Mayada – Daughter of Iraq

Posted: October 24, 2012 in Book Reviews
Tags: , ,

“Mayada – Daughter of Iraq

One woman’s survival under Saddam Hussein”

This is apparently my first book review in spite of having read over 20 books since I developed this hobby, and found out how much I love reading books.

Mayada, written by Jean Sasson has come to me after I have read two of the Princess Series books by the same author; Princess and Daughters of Arabia (Yet to find Desert Royal in the rental stores where I am a regular customer now). 

Daughter of Iraq

Source: Google Images

Jean Sasson, the author of this book who has spent major part of her life in middle east had met Mayada Al-askari, Grand daughter of the father of Arab Nationalism Sati Al-husri, when she was seeking for a translator. They became good friends and kept in touch even after Jean Sasson left Iraq until one day, when she was no where in contact and had disappeared somewhere.

Mayada – Daughter of Iraq is a real story of a woman’s survival in Baladiyat Prison’s Cell 52 who was arrested on a false charge of printing leaflets against the Government of Saddam Hussein. The book is an account of her imprisonment, the feeling of being separated from her children where her children did not even know that her mother has been arrested, the fear of death, the torture, the screams, the shouts, the plight, and every thing that she experienced, saw, and lived during her tenure at Prison.

It also describes about the relationships her family shared with Saddam Hussein and other people at power in Iraq when she was young. It narrates about the great men in her family who are famous in the history of Arabia. It then describes about the stories of other brave and innocent Shadow-women in the cell 52, her friendship with Samara in the cell and about the torture, about the false charges, about the vague imprisonment which happened on mere suspicion and ruined everybody’s life. It narrates about the corruption where the prison wardens will harass family and take huge ransom for release or lowering the punishment and so on.

I would not recommend this book to people with weak heart as the story is too difficult to digest. I have seen tears rolling down the eyes of so many people who have read this book. Besides, I would recommend this book too as we all should know, what Mayada dared to bring forward to the world; the terror which every innocent Iraqi went through in 35 years of Ba’ath’s regime. These women should never be forgotten and we should always keep their memories alive, and to curb every atrocities happening anywhere around to the women, be it by a political maniac or someone in your neighbourhood.

In Broummana, Lebanon. Sati Al-Husri, his daughter, Salwa; and his two granddaughters Mayada and Abdiya. (Source: Google Images)

Comments
  1. umashankar says:

    That is a sensitive piece about the book. Good of you to warn the weak of heart not to pick it up. I will surely read it sometime though, not to prove the strength of my guts but to study how low humans could descend.

  2. Maulik says:

    Thank you Mr. Umashankar. Do let me know how you found this book. Such book really makes you think if those petty things about life for which you crib and cringe so much, are worth it?

  3. phoney2012 says:

    Hi Maulik, having read Mayada, why not Google: ‘MAYADA DAUGHTER OF IRAQ C-SPAN VIDEO LIBRARY’ Also Google: JEAN SASSON COMMANDPOST. You can watch how both woman, Mayada Askari and author Jean Sasson are encouraging the American military to go fight in Iraq. That’s warmongering in my book.
    Sorry, but Jean Sasson’s none fiction books have to be read with ‘ fiction’ in mind.

  4. phoney2012 says:

    Maulik I forgot to mention, since you love reading and writing you might one day become an author yourself, therefore I like to recommend you “The Phoney Princess” book. It is the true story of a first time authors horror experience with the dark side of the publishing industrie.
    The book is on Amazon.

  5. Maulik says:

    @Phoney .. Thanks for the recommendations. I don’t and haven’t developed any hard feelings as I know for once, that I don’t know the other side. I would love to read The Phoney Princess, will try finding it in my library as I rent book, and not buy them. I shall surely do more research regarding this. Besides, Jean Sasson books are on real stories, not fiction.

  6. phoney2012 says:

    Maulik good uck with finding the book in your library then. Cheers!

  7. […] Mayada – Daughter of Iraq « One Life Million Stories … […]

  8. This is an example of a realtime blog post, based on people

  9. very good put up, i definitely love this website, carry on it

  10. It looks to me that this site doesnt load on a Motorola Droid. Are other people having the exact same problem? I like this webpage and dont want to have to skip it any time Im gone from my computer.

  11. Hiya, I am really glad I have found this information. Today bloggers publish just about gossip and internet stuff and this is really frustrating. A good site with exciting content, that is what I need. Thanks for making this website, and I’ll be visiting again. Do you do newsletters? I Can’t find it.

  12. I salute you for exerting much effort on this post, your deserve a better recognition regarding with it

  13. How did you make a blog site look this cool! Email me if you want and share your wisdom. Id appreciate it.

  14. Thanks for sharing superb informations. Your web site is very cool. I’m impressed by the details that you¡¦ve on this website. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this website page, will come back for extra articles. You, my friend, ROCK! I found just the info I already searched all over the place and simply couldn’t come across. What a great site.

  15. I your writing style genuinely loving this online web site .

Leave a Reply

